Day Four

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30 Day Book Challenge

 

4. Book turned into a movie and completely desecrated 

For this question, two film adaptations came to mind. Read on 🙂

One is the 2013 adaptation of The Host by Stephanie Meyer. Okay, before I go into that I’d like to remind you that although I was once a fan of Twilight but am no longer, I still warrant that The Host is actually not a bad novel at all, especially with its strong premise. Though I can’t say Meyer executed the novel as well as it could have been, I enjoyed the characters and their relationships. I especially liked Jamie. In saying that, I wasn’t surprised that the film turned out to be a horrible mess of bad acting, screenwriting and direction. I didn’t believe a word of it, and actually cannot remember one part of the film I actually enjoyed. It was just a hot mess. Not even Emily Brownings cameo made it good for me. Sorry Emily! (We went to the same alternative “hippy” primary school, but I’m sure she won’t be reading this anyway :P). 

The second film is the 2013 (clearly a bad year for adaptations, I guess) adaptation of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s Beautiful Creatures. My sister and I were really excited for it because we’d both devoured the series and had thought it was a pretty good, unique story. But we left the cinema extremely disappointed. The first half of the film was good, promising. The characters were portrayed well, and so was the relationship between Ethan and Lena. What really set us off though was the MAJOR change to the ending of the film, which completely diverted from the book and not in a good way. Not only did they screw up what happened to our favourite character Link, they also changed…Well, I won’t give it away if you haven’t read the books, and anyway, the film ending was so bad that it doesn’t even deserve to be talked about. Seriously. Bleugh.

Well. That’s it today. Until next time….

 

Leave a Reply

