Book Review: What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

what-if-its-us-9781471176395_hr

Right, so. Take a deep breath, Jasmine. Breathe.

I finished this book, oh I don’t know, an hour ago after reading it all day (an awesome day, by the way) and just wanted to say first of all: Thank you Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, I have been waiting for this for so long and you did not disappoint. Your amazing collaboration created a true gem of story and a group of characters I really, super madly wish I knew in real life.

Before I say anything else, this review is SPOILER FREE. It’s funny, I write reviews for books I love but I normally only read book reviews AFTER I’ve read the book the reviews talking about. Well, that was a long-winded sentence. Anyway, I truly dislike accidentally getting spoilers and simply love diving into a book without knowing much more than the basic premise and maybe the names of the main characters. I like to be as surprised and therefore as moved as possible by the story without having ideas or theories in my head beforehand. Stories are so much better that way.

With that in mind, here is what you really need to know about What If It’s Us.

  1. It’s a book that heals. It’s about love, it’s about heartbreak and it’s damn relevant to anyone who has ever experienced love that didn’t work out and/or found a love that did.
  2. It’s a book that has so many Harry Potter references in it I pretty much died every time. It has a lot of other awesome nerdy pop culture references in it, too.
  3. It’s a book that will make you laugh. Even if you don’t have a sense of humour, I promise you, you will laugh.
  4. It’s a book that might make you tear up or cry or sob. Whatever is your go to for too many feelings.
  5. It’s a book about the strength of friendship and damn, does it have some wonderful characters in it that make up those friendship circles.
  6. It’s a book that has awesome, cool parents in it, too.
  7. It’s a book that shines with two amazing main characters. I know you will love Arthur and Ben as much as I and anyone else who has read this book does!
  8. It’s a book for everyone.
  9. It’s true and honest and remarkable.
  10. It’s a book you should be reading right now!

And that’s all I will say. Back to my squealing and my crossing fingers for a sequel and a brilliant film adaptation!

~~~

Let me know if you’ve read What If It’s Us or plan to! I would love to chat more about it with you!

Until next time,

Jasmine @ Thesepaperwords

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.